If you don’t love biscuits then there has to be something wrong with you. Just kidding, but really. I love biscuits and this is my go-to recipe. I call them my “world-famous Chedda Baes”.

Being a drop biscuit makes it much easier because you don’t need to knead and roll and cut. You just mix everything together and then scoop them out and drop them onto the baking sheet. It’s a rustic look but delicious nonetheless. I have perfected it over time and it’s quite reminiscent of a certain biscuit you might find at a certain seafood chain restaurant (no affiliation), if you catch my drift. Hence, the name they’ve been given, lol.

I know it’s a little unusual to find a biscuit recipe that doesn’t use butter, but believe you me, its worth it. In fact, I always used to make these world-famous biscuits using butter but once I didn’t have any and I REALLY needed to make them so I tried using olive oil, and to be honest, the taste and consistency was much better. So now I only make them with olive oil.

As soon as they come out of the oven, I brush them with a blend of melted butter, garlic, salt and parsley. The melted butter mixture seeps into the warm biscuit and takes it to the next level. It’s really hard to imagine what this is like so you should just go ahead and make them yourself.

I love these biscuits on their own, but one of my favorite pairings is with my world-famous turkey chili (stay tuned for that recipe). Let me know if you have any other ideas for these biscuits!

 

Yields: 12 biscuits

Biscuit Dough:

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 3 tsps baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup EVOO
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar

Butter Mixture:

  • 4 tbs (1/2 stick) of butter
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp granulated garlic (you can use fresh grated garlic instead)
  • 1 tbs dried parsley

Method:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400° F.
  2. In large mixing bowl, mix dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, sugar, salt, cheddar cheese).
  3. Pour in milk and olive oil and mix until combined (careful not to over-mix!).
  4. Chill in refrigerator for 10-15 minutes.
  5. Using a standard 4 oz scoop, or two large spoons, scoop biscuit dough and drop onto baking sheet 2 inches apart.
  6. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. Make sure to keep a close eye on them because every oven is different!
  7. While in the oven, melt butter and mix with garlic, salt, and parsley, and have ready for when the biscuits are ready.
  8. Pull out biscuits and brush immediately with butter mixture.
  9. Allow to cool for a couple of minutes and dig in!

I hope you guys enjoy! Please share on social media if you make them and let me know!